1. Alumni

Alumni Awards

We’re so proud that you’re a part of our family.

We honor the outstanding achievements of SFCM’s alumni whose success and service promote the Conservatory’s innovation and excellence in the field of higher education. The Presidential Alumni Council (PAC) presents two Distinguished Alumni Awards annually to recognize the outstanding work of alumni at two key events: the annual Fanfare Luncheon and Commencement.

Bonnie Hampton, Pre-College Alumna, Receives Distinguished Alumni Award at 2018 Commencement

On May 18, 2018, we honored Bonnie Hampton in recognition of outstanding leadership and dedication to SFCM’s current and former students. Hampton has a near-seven-decade relationship with the Conservatory, going as far back as 1952 when she studied with the Griller Quartet. From 1973–2003, Hampton served as cello faculty at SFCM, and before that—since the early ’50s—she had been teaching students on Saturdays at the Conservatory’s original location on Sacramento Street. She also led the development of the country’s first master’s degree program in chamber music at SFCM in 1985, a degree track that still exists today.

Reaching near-legendary status in the annals of the school’s history, Bonnie Hampton has been a driver of change, one of the most revered faculty members to have ever taught at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music. Bonnie has served as a mentor to hundreds of students for decades, and recently came out of retirement to rejoin the SFCM chamber music faculty.

Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2018    Bonnie Hampton, pre-college
2018    Jeffrey Kahane '77
2017    Eugene Rodriguez '87
2016    James Freeman '92        
2015    Lisa Delan '89
2014    Amy Schwartz Moretti '94 pre-college
2013    Marnie Breckenridge '96
2012    Choong Mo Kang '86
2011    Krista Bennion Feeney '81
2010    Chester Patton '91
2009    Yuliya Gorenman '92
2008    Lise Lindstrom '96
2007    Gyan Riley '01
2006    Warren Jones '77
2005    Robin Sutherland '75
2004    Violaine Melançon '88 and Seth Knopp '88, Peabody Trio

Criteria and Guidelines for Awards

PAC has identified key areas of interest for the Alumni Awards. To qualify as a nominee, the committee considers the following criteria:

  • Demonstrate a record of excellence in the field
  • Exemplify the current mission and vision of SFCM
  • Provide an inspiration to the SFCM community
  • Require approval by the PAC and the SFCM President

Nomination process

The PAC calls for nominations from the SFCM alumni community every fall, requesting a formal statement of nomination with a brief rationale and a resume or narrative career outline. An individual cannot nominate himself or herself.

Past Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

  • Amy Schwartz Moretti '94 PC, 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

  • Marnie Breckenridge '96, 2013 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

  • Choong Mo Kang '86, 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

  • Yuliya Gorenman '92, 2009 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

  • Lise Lindstrom '96, 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

  • Gyan Riley '01, 2007 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

  • Warren Jones '77, 2006 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

  • Robin Sutherland '75, 2005 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient

  • Violaine Melançon '88 and Seth Knopp '88, Peabody Trio, 2004 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients