1. About Us


David H. Stull


David H Stull has served as President of the San Francisco Conservatory of Music (SFCM) since July 1, 2013. During his tenure, the Conservatory has launched a dynamic new curriculum that prepares artists to seize opportunities in the modern economy while equipping them for lifelong success in any endeavor. In addition to new programs in Film and Game Scoring, Technology, and Roots, Jazz and American Music, the school has forged educational alliances with the San Francisco Symphony and Opera, the SFJAZZ Center, Skywalker Studios, SONY, and numerous companies in Silicon Valley. The Conservatory has recently been featured on the Today Show, Vice News on HBO, and in the New York Timeswhich broke an exclusive story announcing a single gift of $46.4M to launch construction of the Ute and William K. Bowes, Jr. Performing Arts Center; the largest gift in history to a music school in support of a building project.

Before leading SFCM, Stull served for nine years as Dean and Professor of Brass Studies with continuous tenure at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music. There he spearheaded the construction of The Kohl Building and implemented numerous academic programs, in addition to launching a record label. He also produced orchestral tours to Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, and the People’s Republic of China, as well as a Grammy-nominated album and a concert by Stevie Wonder celebrating the Kohl Building.

Recognizing the success of Oberlin's innovative work and contributions to American education, President Barack Obama presented the Oberlin Conservatory of Music with the National Medal of Arts, which Dean Stull accepted on behalf of the institution in February 2010.

Prior to Oberlin, Stull worked for the Aspen Music Festival, held dean and teaching positions at Lawrence University, and served as the Associate Director of Admissions for The Juilliard School. A professional tubist, Stull has performed with the Milwaukee Ballet, the Bravo Colorado Music Festival, the Oberlin Brass Quintet, the American Brass Quintet, the Aspen Festival Orchestra, Live from Lincoln Center, toured the United States and Europe, and recorded for commercial radio and television. His former students have performed with the Houston and Seattle Symphonies and hold major teaching positions. Stull often serves as a keynote speaker and has been featured on From the Top and Performance Today, in addition to numerous media outlets across the Country.

A native of Cincinnati, Stull earned degrees in tuba performance and English literature at Oberlin College. He attended the Aspen Music Festival and pursued further study in the American Brass Quintet Seminar at the Juilliard School before completing an M.M. at the University of Wisconsin at Madison. In his spare time, he flies a 1965 Cessna 182 Super Eagle. An instrument-rated pilot, he has flown across the United States, the Bahamian Islands, and the Grand Canyon. David currently resides in Sausalito with his wife, Jessica Downs, and their daughters, Madeline and Emily. 

Marina Kennedy
Executive Assistant to the President

Kate Sheeran

Provost and Dean

As Provost and Dean, Kate Sheeran oversees all aspects of the Conservatory’s academic program, leads and builds the faculty, implements changes to the curriculum, assesses student academic achievement, and ensures that SFCM continues to meet standards for accreditation. She also seeks to attract students of the highest caliber to the school.

Before moving to San Francisco in 2015, Sheeran was a member of the leadership team at the Mannes School of Music in New York City for eight years. There, she was an assistant dean and directed all preparatory and continuing education programs, overseeing more than 100 faculty and serving more than 700 students. She modernized curricula, introduced a robust series of visiting guest artists, and created innovative performing experiences for students of all ages. In addition, she spearheaded the launch of two new minors for degree students, Post-Genre Music and Composition.

As a horn player, Sheeran has performed with a wide range of musicians, including Ensemble Signal, The Wordless Music Orchestra, Alarm Will Sound, Red Light New Music, The Dirty Projectors, Tyondai Braxton, Jónsi, Trinity Wall Street’s NOVUS NY, and Ensemble LPR. She has recorded for the Nonesuch, Cantaloupe, Western Vinyl, New Amsterdam, XL, Tzadik, and Warp labels, and for commercial television and film.

Sheeran has been on the horn faculty at Dickinson College, Susquehanna University, Bucknell University, and Mannes Prep. A native of Vermont, she has served on the Board of Trustees of Kinhaven Music School, and is currently a member of the Board of Directors of Alarm Will Sound. Sheeran received her undergraduate degree, Certificate in Arts Leadership, and Performer’s Certificate from the Eastman School of Music, and an MM from the Yale School of Music. She feels very lucky to have a life in music, and is especially inspired by helping young musicians to find their individual paths in today’s musical world.

Samuel Nedel
Executive Assistant to the Provost and Dean


  • Gloria S. Kim, Vice President, External Relations and Artistic Operations
  • Susan McConkey, Vice President, Strategic Initiatives
    Kathleen Nicely, Vice President of Advancement
  • Kathryn Wittenmyer, Vice President, Finance
  • Board of Trustees

  • Timothy W. Foo, Chair
  • Deepa R. Pakianathan, Executive Vice-Chair
  • Michael R. V. Whitman, Vice-Chair
  • Matthew Raphaelson, Treasurer
  • Karen J. Kubin, Secretary
  • Louis de K. Belden, in memoriam
  • Eileen Blum-Bourgade
  • Didi Boring
  • William K. Bowes, Jr., in memoriam
  • Jan Buckley
  • Carol W. Casey
  • Rebecca-Sen Chan
  • Christiane P. de Bord
    Lisa Delan '89
  • Carol Pucci Doll
    James Freeman
    Gary Garabedian
  • Ann O. Girard
  • Lisa M. Grotts
  • John Leitner
  • Aditi H. Mandpe, M.D.
  • Susan Graf Marineau
  • Lorna F. Meyer
  • Payam Mirrashidi
  • Maura B. Morey
    Mary Poland
  • Joshua M. Rafner
    Barbara Ravizza
  • Stephen Rubin
  • Gary A. Rust, M.D. ’83
  • Maria Shim
  • Camilla Smith
  • David H. Stull
  • Maureen O’Brien Sullivan
  • Jane Chang Tom, Ph.D
  • Barbara Walkowski
  • Maurice Werdegar
    Diane Zack
  • Robert H. Zerbst
  • Siwei Zou
  • Advisory Board

  • Gordon P. Getty ’62
  • Thomas Hampson
  • Robert K. McFerrin, Jr.
  • Robin Sutherland ’75
  • Michael Tilson Thomas
  • Frederica von Stade
  • Trustees Emeriti

  • John M. Anderson
  • Ava Jean Brumbaum
  • Mrs. A. Barlow Ferguson
  • Mrs. Harold B. Getz, Jr.
  • Bruce W. Hart
  • Michael J. Savage
  • John B. Stuppin