Event Ended
  1. Performance Calendar
  2. Special Event

SFCM Performs at Flower Piano


San Francisco Botanical Garden
1199 9th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94122


Free with admission to San Francisco Botanical Garden

Five years ago, Sunset Piano and San Francisco Botanical Garden (SFBG) joined forces to offer the public a uniquely interactive experience of music in nature, placing twelve pianos in some of the Garden’s most beautiful locations and inviting anyone to come and play what they like.

Now, the annual twelve-day-long Flower Piano is one of the Bay Area’s most highly anticipated musical events of the summer and celebrates its fifth year at the Garden with a special anniversary edition, featuring new opportunities for the public to play, more performances by professional musicians, special events for families including the new evening-time Flower Piano at Sunset, a community sing-along, free piano lessons, and three evenings of Flower Piano at Night, a special after dark event with food trucks and outdoor bars.

From July 15th through July 19th, pull up a bench or a patch of grass and enjoy special lunch time concerts by Conservatory of Music students and alumni at the Ancient Plant Garden and Garden of Fragrance. This collaboration is a preview for the theme of the upcoming SFCM season, Music and Nature.

Program I (12:00-12:30PM) | Garden of Fragrance

Ludwig Van Beethoven
Piano Sonata No. 4 in E-flat major, Op. 7
   I. Allegro molto e con brio

Leo Ornstein
Piano Sonata No. 4 in E minor
   I. Moderato con moto

Frédéric Chopin
Mazurka in A minor, Op. 17, No. 4
Nocturne in E major, Op. 62, No. 2
Piano Sonata No. 2 in B-flat minor, Op. 35
   I. Grave - Doppio movimento

Adnan Saygun
Ten Études on Aksak Rhythms, Op. 38, No. 1


Zak Mustille, piano

Program II (12:30-1:00PM) | Ancient Plant Garden

Robert Schumann
Selections from Kinderszenen, Op. 15
   VII. Träumerei
   VIII. Am Kamin
   IX. Ritter vom Steckenpferd
   X. Fast zu ernst
   XI. Fürchtenmachen
   XII. Kind im Einschlummern
   XIII. Der Dichter spricht

Franz Schubert
3 Klavierstücke, D. 946

Yujing Bai

Johannes Brahms
6 Klavierstücke, Op.118
   I. Intermezzo. Allegro non assai, ma molto appassionato
   II. Intermezzo. Andante teneramente
   III. Ballade. Allegro energico
   V. Romance. Andante—Allegretto grazioso


Ke (Coco) Chen, piano