Skip to main content

SFCM Honors San Francisco Symphony Executive Director Brent Assink

Latest SFCM News

SFCM Celebrates Partnership with San Francisco Symphony

March 28, 2017 by Shase Hernandez

The San Francisco Conservatory of Music (SFCM) will honor San Francisco Symphony Executive Director Brent Assink at its Spring 2017 Gala, taking place Tuesday, April 18. Serving as the symphony’s executive director since 1999 and previously as general manager from 1990–1994, Assink is regarded as one of America’s leading arts administrators.

Assink has been instrumental in fostering a close partnership with SFCM, working with the conservatory’s administration to develop programs and relationships between students and symphony members, many of whom are on faculty at SFCM. Assink served as a guest instructor at the Music Management for Musicians seminar during SFCM’s Winter Term earlier this year, providing valuable insight for students, alumni, and the greater SFCM community interested in classical music administration.

“We are delighted to honor Brent Assink for his tremendous work at the San Francisco Symphony,” says SFCM President David H. Stull. “Brent has been a champion for music education throughout the Bay Area and a superb partner in inspiring the next generation of young artists and audience members. We look forward to feting him appropriately at our celebration in April.”

Sakurako Fisher, John Goldman, and Nancy Bechtle will serve as honorary co-chairs for this year’s gala. SFCM Trustees Deepa Pakianathan, Eileen Blum-Bourgade, and Maria Shim will co-chair the gala committee.

Special gala performers will include soprano Deborah Voigt, pianist Jon Nakamatsu, a brass quintet comprised of conservatory faculty and symphony members, and SFCM students.

Gala proceeds will support collegiate and pre-college scholarships, as well as community engagement programs that annually provide music education and enrichment to thousands of young people and underserved individuals. Individual gala tickets range from $1,500 to $10,000.

Tuesday, April 18, 2017, 5:30 PM
San Francisco Conservatory of Music

Sakurako Fisher, John Goldman, Nancy Bechtle Honorary Gala Co-Chairs
Deepa Pakianathan, Eileen Blum-Bourgade, Maria Shim Gala Co-Chairs

5:30 PM Cocktail Reception in the Phyllis Wattis Atrium
6:45 PM Performance in the Caroline H. Hume Concert Hall
8:00 PM Elegant Dinner in the Tent

Decor will be provided by J. Riccardo Benavides and catering will be provided by McCalls Catering & Events.

For sponsorship opportunities, contact Christian Mills, Associate Director of Major Gifts, at or 415-503-6291.

For individual tickets, contact Arielle Blinick, Special Events Manager, at or 415-503-6245.


Connect with Media Relations.