1. News
  2. News Story

2017 Gala Recap

SFCM’s annual gala, held on April 18, brought the Bay Area’s most visible philanthropists, arts administrators, corporate and nonprofit executives, and politicians to an event of celebration and commendation, honoring outgoing San Francisco Symphony Executive Director Brent Assink and the conservatory’s partnership with the San Francisco Symphony. SFCM recognized Assink for his inspirational service to advance musical excellence in the San Francisco Bay Area and beyond.

During Assink’s tenure, the symphony's partnership with SFCM has expanded and flourished. SFCM currently employs 35 symphony members as faculty, participates in side-by-side concerts on the stage of Davies Symphony Hall, and brings a range of talent to the symphony's youth orchestra.

Sakurako Fisher, John Goldman, and Nancy Bechtle served as honorary co-chairs for this year's gala and SFCM Trustees Deepa Pakianathan, Eileen Blum-Bourgade, and Maria Shim co-chaired.

Attendees included Ute Bowes, Carol and Dixon Doll, US Senator Dianne Feinstein and her husband Richard Blum, SFCM Board Chair Timothy Foo and his wife Virginia, Lynn and Anisya Fritz, John and Paul Gambs, Lisa Grotts, SFJAZZ Executive/Artistic Director Randall Kline, Walt Disney Family Museum Executive Director Kirsten Komoroske, Karen Kubin, Jim and Courtney Labe, Fred Levin and Nancy Livingston, American Conservatory Theater Interim Executive Director Peter Pastreich, San Francisco Opera General Director Matthew Shilvock, Camilla Smith, SFCM President David Stull and his wife Jessica Downs, and Cal Performances Executive and Artistic Director Matías Tarnopolsky.

Performers included pianist Jon Nakamatsu and soprano Deborah Voigt, a brass quintet comprised of SFCM faculty members and symphony musicians, and the Little Stars String Trio, a family ensemble from SFCM’s Pre-College division.

Corporate sponsors included CM Capital Advisors, First Republic Bank, Asset Management Company, Ideas Event Styling, Panoramic Interests, Wells Fargo, Antigal Winery and Estates, DMH Napa Valley, Gloria Ferrer Caves & Vineyards, Kiamie Wine Cellars, Localism, Lynmar Estate, and Truett Hurst.

Gala proceeds support student scholarships and community engagement programs.

  • SFCM Board Chair Timothy Foo and Virginia Foo

  • Gala Co-chairs and SFCM Trustees Maria Shim, Eileen Blum-Bourgade, and Deepa Pakianathan with SFCM President David H. Stull

  • SFCM Trustee Rebecca-Sen Chan and Chi-Foon Chan

  • Maria Manetti Shrem and Jan Shrem

  • Gala Honorary Chair John Goldman and Marcia Goldman

  • Richard Blum and Senator Dianne Feinstein

  • Gala Honorary Chair Nancy Bechtle and Joachim Bechtle

  • SFCM President David H. Stull, Gala Co-chair and SFCM Trustee Deepa Pakianathan, and San Francisco Opera General Director Matthew Shilvock

  • SFCM Trustee Carol Doll and Dixon Doll

  • SFCM Trustee Maureen Sullivan, Craig Sullivan, SFCM Trustee Jan Buckley, and Jim Buckley

  • SFCM faculty members Jon Nakumatsu and Deborah Voigt in performance

  • The Little Stars String Trio, an SFCM Pre-College ensemble, following their performance


Hear the latest coming out of SFCM.