Skip to main content
Expression: Ism - Ensemble for These Times & TAC Collaboration
Friday, April 5 2024, 07:30 PM at
Barbro Osher Recital Hall Map
Department Recital TAC

Expression: Ism - Ensemble for These Times & TAC Collaboration

Friday, April 5 2024, 07:30 PM
Barbro Osher Recital Hall Map

Departmental Recitals showcase performance departments through its students. Featuring various students and repertoire, and curated by the faculty, performances in this recital highlight SFCM programs and the wide range of study. 

A multimedia collaboration between Ensemble for These Times (E4TT) and SFCM TAC exploring music from the Second Viennese School and new music inspired by it, "Expression: Ism" will feature the World Premieres of a new chamber arrangement by Berg’s early masterpiece, Sieben Frühe Lieder by  SFCM graduate TJ Martin and commissioned trios by E4TT co-founder David Garner and SFCM graduate Valerie Liu, plus music by SchoenbergWebern and Adam Schoenberg (b. 1980)and the winner in the SFCM TAC Department student composition competition. The program will include visuals from the Arnold Schoenberg Center, expressionist painters, and real-time processing.
See for more information.

Event Information

Pre-concert composer talk: 7 p.m.


Link to the full program with program notes

Adam Schoenberg: Picture Etudes
     IV. Olive Orchard
Taylor Chan, piano

Alban Berg (arr. TJ Martin): Sieben Frühe Lieder [arr. WORLD PREMIERE]
     I. Nacht
    II. Schilflied
    III. Die Nachtigall
    IV. Traumgekrönt
    V. Im Zimmer 
    VI. Liebesode 
Bryana Marrero, soprano
Laura Reynolds, English horn
Elizabeth Clark Hall, vibraphone
Amy Brodo*, cello

Valerie Liu: Mystic Trio [WORLD PREMIERE]
     I. chained    
    II. unchained
Laura Reynolds, English horn
Amy Brodo*, cello
Taylor Chan, piano

- Intermission -

Anton Webern: Sonatensatz für Klavier (Rondo)
Taylor Chan, piano

Britney Dawn Do: unmute [WORLD PREMIERE]
Laura Reynolds, English horn
Lylia Guion*, violin
Amy Brodo*, cello

Arnold Schoenberg: Drei Klavierstücke, Op. 11
     I. Movement I
    III. Movement III  
Dale Tsang*, piano

David Garner: Piano Trio No. 2 [WORLD PREMIERE]
     I. Pensive, flowing
    II. Moderately   
    III. Quickly, with stark contrasts
Lylia Guion*, violin
Amy Brodo*, cello
Dale Tsang*, piano

*Guest Artist

Share This Event
Friday, April 5 2024, 07:30 PM to Friday, April 5 2024, 09:30 PM

About SFCM’s Technology and Applied Composition Department

Get ready for a career on the edge of art and technology. Our Technology and Applied Composition (TAC) is an exclusive course of study that gives students a direct path into the worlds of film scoring, video game sound design, and other rewarding musical avenues. Featuring instruction from some of the most visible composers in the industry today, the TAC music degree readies you for a cutting-edge compositional life, bridging art and technology in the most dynamic ways imaginable.

See more media from the TAC department.

View SFCM'S Event Health and Safety Policy

As of April 1, 2023, face masks will be optional and at personal discretion for all SFCM concerts & events.  Vaccinations are not required for visitors and guests to campus buildings and performances. Please visit SFCM's full Event Health & Safety policy to read more about our guidelines.