Michael Mayes, Catherine Cook, Laura Strickling
Event Ended
  1. Performance Calendar
  2. Special Event

Music of Remembrance Presents: The Parting


Caroline H. Hume Concert Hall
50 Oak Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
View Map

$60 Center, Left, Right, Wheelchair Accessible (and Companion) / $75 Center Front

World Premiere

A new chamber opera by composer Tom Cipullo and librettist David Mason Commissioned by Music of Remembrance

It’s May 19, 1944 – the final evening at home for the great Hungarian poet Miklós Radnóti and his beautiful, devoted wife Fanni.  Foreseeing his likely fate in a forced labor camp, Radnóti wonders as we often do why we are given life: “To learn what love is. To live. To make beautiful things. To die.” Facing these stark illuminations brings a bright awareness of being.

The Parting is a profound and musically rich meditation on what it means to be an artist but also desire ordinary happiness.  It comes from the same brilliant creative team that brought us the award-winning After Life, with its dramatic confrontation between the ghosts of Gertrude Stein and Pablo Picasso.


Michael Mayes, baritone
Catherine Cook, mezzo soprano
Laura Strickling, soprano

Director Erich Parce

With Works by three HUngarian composers who perished under Nazi hands

Laszlo Weiner
Duo for violin and viola

Sandor Vandor

Sandor Kuti
Serenade for String Trio

There is a pre-concert talk to this event.