Event Ended
  1. Performance Calendar
  2. Student Recital

Neil Advant, trombone - Elective Recital


Sol Joseph Recital Hall
50 Oak Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
View Map

Viewing Information

Health & Safety

Masks Required in the Concert Venue.

No Tickets Required



Margaret Halbig, piano
Parker van Ostrand, piano


Zygmunt Stojowski: Fantaisie pour Trombone Tenore, Op. 27
Margaret Halbig, piano

Johannes Brahms: Vier ernste Gesänge, Op. 121
     I. Denn es gehet dem Menschen
     II. Ich wandte mich und sahe an alle
     III. O  Tod, wie bitter bist du
     IV. Wenn ich mit Menschen und mit Engelszungen redete
Parker van Ostrand, piano

- Intermission -

Stepjan Šulek: Sonata Vox Gabrieli
Margaret Halbig, piano

Ferdinand David: Trombone Concertino in E-flat Major, Op. 4
     I. Allegro maestoso
     II. Marcia funèbre (Andante)
     III. Allegro maestoso
Margaret Halbig, piano

Departments and Faculty Involved with This Event


About SFCM’s Brass Department

Made up of principal brass chairs of the San Francisco Symphony, as well as principal players of the San Francisco Opera and Ballet orchestras, and a close-knit student body, SFCM’s Brass Department challenges and inspires the next generation of great players.

Studio sizes are kept small to ensure students receive the mentorship and performance opportunities they need, and a yearly side-by-side reading of major brass repertoire with faculty members provides insight into the finer points of orchestral brass performance.


Vaccinations remain not required for visitors and guests to campus buildings and performances. In any instance where an SFCM community member tests positive for Covid-19, they will be mandated to follow local, San Francisco Department of Public Health guidelines for isolation and quarantine. Please visit https://sfcm.edu/about-us/covid-19-information/event-health-safety to read the SFCM's full Event Health & Safety policy.

Upcoming Events