Event Ended
  1. Performance Calendar
  2. Special Event

SFCM Performs at Flower Piano


San Francisco Botanical Garden
1199 9th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94122


Free with admission to San Francisco Botanical Garden

Five years ago, Sunset Piano and San Francisco Botanical Garden (SFBG) joined forces to offer the public a uniquely interactive experience of music in nature, placing twelve pianos in some of the Garden’s most beautiful locations and inviting anyone to come and play what they like.

Now, the annual twelve-day-long Flower Piano is one of the Bay Area’s most highly anticipated musical events of the summer and celebrates its fifth year at the Garden with a special anniversary edition, featuring new opportunities for the public to play, more performances by professional musicians, special events for families including the new evening-time Flower Piano at Sunset, a community sing-along, free piano lessons, and three evenings of Flower Piano at Night, a special after dark event with food trucks and outdoor bars.

From July 15th through July 19th, pull up a bench or a patch of grass and enjoy special lunch time concerts by Conservatory of Music students and alumni at the Ancient Plant Garden and Garden of Fragrance. This collaboration is a preview for the theme of the upcoming SFCM season, Music and Nature.

Program I | Ancient Plant Garden

Sonetto 104 del Petrarca, S.161/5

J.S. Bach
Partita no. 4 in D Major, BWV 828
   I. Overture
   II. Allemande
   III. Courante
   IV. Aria
   V. Sarabande
   VI. Menuet
   VII. Gigue

Frédéric Chopin
Ballade no. 1 in G minor, Op. 23


Yunyi Ji, piano

Program II | Garden of Fragrance

Claude Debussy
"Golliwogg's Cakewalk" from Children's Corner, L. 113

Johann Sebastian Bach
English Suite No. 2 in A minor, BWV. 807
   I. Prelude

Frédéric Chopin
Etude Op. 10 No. 4

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Twelve variations on "Ah vous dirai-je, Maman", K. 265/300e   

Franz Schubert
Piano Trio No. 1 in B-flat Major, Op. 99 D. 898

Ludwig Van Beethoven
Piano Trio in C Minor, Op.1 No.3
   I. Allegro con brio


Coco Xu Connor, piano
Valery Breshears, violin
Starla Breshears, cello