Event Ended
  1. Performance Calendar
  2. Master Class

Masterclass with Takács Quartet cellist, András Fejér


Sol Joseph Recital Hall
50 Oak Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
View Map


Free, no tickets or reservations required

Artist Profile

The Takács Quartet, now entering its forty-third season, is renowned for the vitality of its interpretations. The New York Times recently lauded the ensemble for “revealing the familiar as unfamiliar, making the most traditional of works feel radical once more”, and the Financial Times described a recent concert at the Wigmore Hall: “Even in the most fiendish repertoire these players show no fear, injecting the music with a heady sense of freedom. At the same time, though, there is an uncompromising attention to detail: neither a note nor a bow-hair is out of place.” Based in Boulder at the University of Colorado, the Takács Quartet performs eighty concerts a year worldwide.
The members of the Takács Quartet are Christoffersen Faculty Fellows at the University of Colorado Boulder and play on instruments generously loaned to them by a family Foundation. The Quartet has helped to develop a string program with a special emphasis on chamber music, where students work in a nurturing environment designed to help them develop their artistry.  The Takács is a Visiting Quartet at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, London.

András Fejér (cello) was born in 1955 into a musical family. His father was a cellist and conductor, and his mother was a pianist. He began playing the cello at the age of seven, because as legend has it, his father was unwilling to listen to a violin-upstart practicing. Since an early age, his parents have held string quartet weekends, which, for the young cellist were the most memorable of occasions, if not for the music, then for the glorious desserts his mother used to prepare for those sessions.
After attending a music high school, Mr. Fejér was admitted to the Franz Liszt Academy of Music in 1975, where he was a pupil of Ede Banda, András Mihály, Ferenc Rados and György Kurtág. That same year he founded the Takács String Quartet with three fellow classmates. Although the quartet has been his sole professional focus since then, he does perform as a soloist occasionally as well.
Mr. Fejér is married to a literature teacher. They have three children and live in the Rocky Mountains, where they enjoy year-round sunshine in beautiful Boulder, Colorado. When he is not on tour, he enjoys reading, photography, tennis and hiking.


Robert Schumann
String Quartet No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 41            
     I. Introduzione: Andante espressivo-Allegro
Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 47
     IV. Finale: Vivace

Zoltán Kodály
Duo, Op. 7 for violin and cello          
     I. Allegro serioso, non troppo       


Alexandros Petrin and Boxianzi Ling, violin
Carly Scena, viola
Minji Kim, cello
Sam Weiser, violin
Zhenwei Shi, viola
Maclean Pachkowski, cello
Heemin Park, piano
Maria van der Sloot, violin
Edward Luengo, cello

Departments and Faculty Involved with This Event

String and Piano Chamber